What should an Integrated Management System consist of

Integrated Management Systems Consultant

What should an Integrated Management System consist of

An Integrated Management System (IMS) is a single smart system that is holistic and that a company should adopt for running core operations. It is basically a combination of ISO 9001 (Quality Processes) with ISO 14001 (Environmental Processes) and ISO 45001 (Health & Safety Processes) that studies “non-conformance” within the organization and conducts audits, and managerial reviews based on these. Such reviews are meant to bring about corrective action for continual improvement. Depending on the specifics of the organization many more ISO standards could be applied.

Integrated Management Systems Consultant

Integrated Management Systems cut down idle time and reduce costs. Every segment of an organization impacts another, and IMS optimizes profits – with social and environmental considerations.

Headquartered in Sydney, PQAS is an Integrated Management Systems Consultant specializing in designing and deploying these.

Some pillars on which such systems are based are outlined below:

ISO 9000 series – Quality Management Consultant

ISO 9000 series focuses on improving the quality of products and services and consistently meeting customer/client expectations.

While there may not be a statutory or market-driven need to do so; businesses would do well to conduct internal audits to examine how its quality of product or service actually is. To do this, organizations may either invite a Management System Consultant to delve into how they are faring compared to benchmarks; or, alternatively, they may invite clients for feedback.

ISO 14000 series – Environmental Management

Providing a framework for an effective environmental management system may be applied to any organization, regardless of activity or sector. It is certification to regulatory authorities as well every stakeholder that the environmental impact of the organization’s operations is being tracked and kept under control.

ISO 45000 series – Occupational Health & Safety

ISO 45001 lays down standards for ensuring acceptable levels of employee safety, reducing workplace risk, and working conditions for employees.

While the three listed above are the basics of an IMS, others that could or should be incorporated (depending upon the circumstances) are:

ISO 26000 series – Social Responsibility

This basically is a guide to what is the “right thing” to do for an organization.

ISO 37001 – Ethics

Connected with transparency and trust and so organizational credibility; it looks at risk assessment, due diligence, financial controls, and reporting and investigative procedures.

ISO 31000 – Risk Management

This deals with economic resilience, professional reputation, and environmental and safety risks.

ISO/IEC 27001 – Information Protection

This deals with information security management systems for the security of intellectual property, financial data, employee details, and confidential information.

ISO 50001 – Energy Management & Conservation

Finally, whether embarking afresh or revamping the existing IMS, the services of a Management System Consultant could be invaluable to incorporate all aspects.